GOOD NEWS: Names in the News

first_img GOOD NEWS: Names in the News Pinterest Local News Facebook Pinterest By admin – June 17, 2018 WhatsApp Twitter Facebook Twitter WhatsApp MARY THOMPSON MILITARY ROLL OF HONORU.S. Air Force Airman Christopher Adame graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio.Adame is the daughter of Donna Tarin and step-daughter of Jorge Beaza of Odessa.She is a 2016 graduate of Odessa High School.HONORMary Thompson, a registered nurse and ECHD board member, has been named to the statewide Texas Healthcare Trustees board on June 7.THT president/Chief Executive Officer Shirley Robinson, CAE, said, “We are excited to have Mary serve on the THT board. We have worked with her over the years through THT’s Certified Healthcare Trustee program and the Healthcare Governance Conference. As a nurse trustee, Mary brings a unique perspective to our board and we are lucky to have her.”The Texas healthcare Trustees board is a statewide non-profit organization for those serving on the governing boards of hospitals and health care systems in Texas.Thompson has served on the Ector County Hospital District Board since 1990. She retired from Odessa Heart Institute after 30 years as a registered nurse.Additionally, she is active in the Odessa Chamber of Commerce and THT’s Nurses on Board initiative with Texas team.GRADUATELONGVIEW Andrew Larsen of Big Bend National Park graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in engineering technology in mechanical concentration from LeTourneau University during the spring university.DEAN’S LISTST LOUIS, Mo. Andrea Cadena of Alpine was named to the Dean’s list at Maryville University during the spring semester.To be named to the Dean’s list, students must be eligible maintain a minimum of a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.WACO Mikhayla Ranae Epperson of Andrews and Darden Tate Morriss of Van Horn, both have been named to the Dean’s Academic Honor List at Baylor University for the spring semester.To be named to the Dean’s list, undergraduates with a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 while enrolled in a minimum of 12 semester hours.NEW HEAD ATHLETIC TRAINERALPINE Billy Ray Laxton has been hired as the new head athletics trainer at Sul Ross State University in an announcement by director of athletics Bobby Mesker.With Laxton on board, he will now be one of two full time athletic trainers which is a first in the history of the athletics department.Laxton served as outreach coordinator at Scott and White Hospital in Temple since 2011. Prior to Scott and White, he served as head athletic trainer and assistant professor of athletic training at the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor.Before to his arrival at Belton, Laxton worked in the clinical setting (Lubbock Sports Rehab – ’89-’90) and the high school setting (John Tyler ’90-2001). While at John Tyler he helped the Lions to a football state championship in 1994 and a state appearance in 2000.His other athletic training experiences include professional rodeo, Justin Healer Sports Medicine Team and the 1996 Olympics, Chief Athletic Trainer-Willis Park. Laxton has served on several committees/boards including the East Texas Athletic Trainers Association, Southwest Athletic Trainers Association and Texas State Athletic Trainers Association. He is also a counsel member of the Ethics Committee of the National Athletic Trainers Association.Laxton is a graduate of Texas Tech University (1989) with a degree in Physical Education and later obtained a master’s degree (2000) from University of Texas, Tyler.He and his wife Joanna have two sons, Sam and John. John will be attending Sul Ross as an incoming freshman this fall.SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD WINNERALPINE Acts of sportsmanship in competition, on campus and within the community earned Sul Ross senior forward Caleb Thomasson recognition as the 2017-18 American Southwest Conference Fred Jacoby Male Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year, the ASC announced June 7.An NABC First Team All-American in men’s basketball, Thomasson was the ASC West Division Player of the Year and All-Conference selection. He ranked second in Lobo history with 1,424 career points and second with 675 rebounds. He graduated with a degree in Interdisciplinary Studies with a 3.54 grade point average. Thomasson served as the President of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee for two years. He recently returned from a missions trip to Alaska with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes.“Caleb Thomasson is not just an athlete at Sul Ross State, but a scholar,” said Sul Ross Director of Athletics Bobby Mesker.“He has shown tremendous commitment to the values of our institution. He works hard, encourages all and treats others with dignity and respect. His work ethic and outstanding creativity will serve him well and bring him future opportunities to achieve accolades.”DISTINGUISHED SCHOLAR ATHLETEALPINE Sul Ross State University senior forward Caleb Thomasson has been named an American Southwest Conference Distinguished Scholar-Athlete in an announcement June 7.The ASC West Division Player of the Year and NABC First Team All-American, Thomasson was also named an ASC First Team All-Conference selection and was also listed to the All-Defensive Team. He averaged 19.3 points and 8.3 rebounds this season and ranked second in the program in scoring with 1,424 career points (17.5 ppg) and second in rebounds at 675 (8.3 rpg.). Thomasson was also the 2017-18 ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year. He majored in Interdisciplinary Studies with a 3.52 GPA.Taylor Gass (Women’s Basketball), Darrian Doederlein (Softball), Mike Munden (Baseball), Alexa Gallardo (Women’s Tennis) and Joseph Parker (Men’s Track and Field) were also named to this year’s Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams.Overall, 103 student-athletes were named to the American Southwest Conference 2018 Winter-Spring Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams.The Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams recognize student-athletes who achieve a high level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list – limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport – the sports information directors from the 13 ASC member institutions and one affiliate member select a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete in each sport.The ASC Fred Jacoby Sportsmanship Award honors each year a male and female student-athlete who best display attributes of sportsmanship, leadership, citizenship and academic integrity in his or her athletic, academic and life pursuits. The conference Directors of Athletics present the annual awards. Previous articleTHE IDLE AMERICAN: June’s Bustin’ Out All OverNext articleMASTER GARDENERS: EarthKind gardens designed to collect data, educate adminlast_img read more

Read More